Welcome to the chaos

I arrive at work this week to a crowd of boisterous orientation leaders bouncing around on the sidewalk, dressed in bright matching t-shirts and lip-synching to Lady Gaga blasting out of a good old-fashioned boombox. A car arrives and the leaders punch it into high gear: a new freshman and her parents! It’s as if Lady Gaga herself has arrived. Much whooping ensues. Car doors open and nervous parents can’t help but smile while their teen tries to look cool amid the welcome assault. It’s not working, honey.

But their cheer is infectious and works on me, so I’m  pretending that these energetic upperclassmen are my welcoming committee. Just another work day with unbridled team spirit. A cheerleading squad for the tired working masses. A We appreciate the heck out of you kind of reception I like when starting my day. I could get used to this.

Leave a Reply

