New year, new resolutions

I like New Year’s Eve more for the opportunity to reflect on my year and think about improvements for the year ahead and less for watching Ryan Seacrest and NKOTB be showered with confetti as a jewel the size of a engagement ring fit for a housewife of Beverly Hills drops from the sky.

When I review my resolutions from last year, I think the report card might read Good student but needs to apply herself. I vowed to eat more salads, something I rebelled against just a few short years ago. Vegetables? Yuck. But after realizing that these do not have to be  wholesale iceberg lettuce and watery tomato affairs, I’ve embraced salads.

I also committed to reading more books outside of my comfort zone, which I’d say was more or less accomplished. I tried and failed to read a young adult novel, but I did succeed in revisiting the classics, delving into Henry James and Nabokov. Apparently though, the third time is not the charm for To the Lighthouse.

My third resolution was one I like to keep around year to year: to have more experiences. Basically, this means saying yes to more things. Hard to assess that one: I try to be more open to experiences but then I just love nesting, which is the polar opposite. New experiences rarely involve pajamas.

In addition to building on the old resolutions that I find take about two years to take root, I resolve to do the following in 2011:

  • Be more decisive. I’ve spent multiple hours looking for the perfect calendar, for example. This year, I went to Border’s and bought a sock monkey calendar. It’s cute and it will work just fine.

  • Maintain better eye contact. I don’t like to be that weird person that stares a lot (see monkey above), but I could improve my connections.
  • Get to bed by 11:00. Avoid the black hole of the computer and TV.
  • I will no longer read the comments section on online articles. Because I have a life and those people don’t.

What do you commit to do? What about making a linguistic resolution and finally rid yourself of those lazy filler words and crutches. Like, whatever.

How about using that noggin’? Oliver Sacks reminds us in this New York Times article that your brain needs attention too. Try something new; experiment with a new art medium or just take a different route to work. Cognitive fitness is just as important as physical fitness—and it usually involves less sweating.

One thought on “New year, new resolutions

  1. From little acorns: I’m currently experimenting with the different route to work novelty. It really does make a difference; small but significant.
    Your resolutions are very doable, but still require habit-forming discipline, which is hard work. I’m confident it will pay off.
    By the by, I’m trying to stay up later. I often fall into my pit by 9.30pm, which is sad. Caffeine is my first attack, but I’m hoping that energy and enthusiasm kick in with time.

Leave a Reply

