Give a virtual gift

Sure, it’s post-Christmas and we’re at the height of a recession, but it’s never too late to give your friends a little something special.

Last year, I introduced the idea of giving holiday presents that are easy on the wallet: virtual gifts. You’d be surprised how much easier it is to find the perfect gift when you’re not constrained by a budget or real money or real gifts. So when I spot that tricked-out cycle my brother-in-law would love, I can email it to him. Sure, he doesn’t get the joy of opening it, riding it, or actually touching it, but I don’t have the pain of dropping $600+ or figuring out how to ship it to him without shelling out another $600.

My friend whose dream it is to swim with the whales would be getting this lovely whale papercut if I were a more generous friend. Dream on, friend.

I have a friend who would like to own a place in Brookline that’s bigger than a crawlspace. Done! She’d love a 2-bedroom, but there’s no need for restraint in the virtual world, so I picked up this sweet little pad for her that comes with a library (uh, don’t start packing).

Merry Christmas!

To my friend obsessed with bacon, I send virtual bacon jam. In this case, a virtual gift also helps his cholesterol.

 

Leave a Reply

