Smelly soap

It’s easy to take the smallest things for granted, and I realize now, that I did that with the soap in our office bathroom. Suddenly, perhaps to ward off the Norovirus that has infiltrated our school, there’s a strong-smelling, undoubtedly antibacterial soap that’s appeared in the soap dispenser that makes me feel like I’m a surgeon scrubbing up before an appendectomy. You know the smell that says doctor’s office. Or worse: hospital. I feel dirtier than when I went in. I don’t like it, even if it is to protect us from some virus. More likely, it’s a cost-cutting measure, and we’ll never again have that pink, sweet-smelling soap that ranked only marginally higher that I now so desperately miss.

Leave a Reply

