Weltanschauung

A Word a Day continues to deliver odd little treasures to my mailbox each day, or in this case, ridiculously long German words that barely fit in my mailbox. Weltanschauung is a noun that means world view; philosophy of life; a framework through which to interpret the world. I think everyone should have one.

Here’s an excellent example of one and its usage: “Gwyneth Paltrow summed up her weltanschauung thus: ‘My life is good because I am not passive about it.'” –Richard Dorment; Gwyneth Paltrow Feels Good — And So Can You; Esquire (New York); Sep 16, 2009.

So, I think we need to get us some weltanschauungs. I don’t know if I have one except the simple Do what makes you happy. I’m jealous of Paltrow’s weltanschauung;  I want it to be my own, except that while my life is good, I may actually be more passive about it than she is; I’m not eating my way through Spain with Mario Batali and a film crew, starring in movies, and living with a rock musician. But when I think about it, I wouldn’t really want to be traveling with Mario, having a camera in my face, or dating a band member (what do you mean, unlikely?). I’d rather be traveling anonymously with my boyfriend or cooking at home. Still, I feel bad that Gwyneth Paltrow has the perfect weltanschauung and I’ve got nothing.

What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

