Despite years of refusal, Morrissey needs your love

What’s up, Morrissey? I get the sense you’re feeling unloved. I don’t know, maybe it’s me, but your lyrics are sad, man. Sad. True, it’s nothing new, but I thought by now you might have cheered up a smidge. You say some provocative things that can make a girl worry, like when you sing about throwing your arms around Paris because “only stone and steel accept my love” and later in that same song, this refrain:

Nobody wants my love
Nobody needs my love
Nobody wants my love

Oh dear.

In the unexpectedly lilting, “Something is Squeezing My Skull” there’s this little gem: 

Oh, something is squeezing my skull
Something I cannot describe
There is no hope in modern life.

Come, now. Is it really that dire? I’ll give you this: modern life is a bitch; but I just want you to have some hope and find love. But then you go and kill the dream in “That’s How People Grow Up”:

I was wasting my time
Trying to fall in love
Disappointment came to me and
Booted me and bruised and hurt me

No kidding, my friend, love does that. 

One sad man

One sad man

 

In “I’m OK by Myself,” you’re cheeky about your unlovability. 

Is this an arm around my waist?
Well, surely the hand contains a knife?

Clever, but still sad. Maybe I’m just reading between the lines or you know, reading the lines, but I think you’re unhappy. Your CD though—all those unhappy tunes— makes me happy, so it doesn’t matter if you’re at the edge of a precipice; it’s working for you.

One thought on “Despite years of refusal, Morrissey needs your love

  1. Is this an arm around my waist?
    Well, surely the hand contains a knife?

    I love it! I’m making it one of my theme songs.

    And P.S. – He’s looking OLD. I wonder what that means for us?

Leave a Reply

