Frizz be gone

Kendall Square in Cambridge is all about biotechnology. Lifesaving devices are born there. Stuff gets developed that would freak you out (they’re cloning babies, I know it!). But forget scientific breakthroughs that save the world. Bad hair is a crisis. Having tried every hair product out there from middle school through…yesterday, I could have told you we’d need to call in the scientists. Now an MIT professor claims to have tamed a longstanding problem of women everywhere: frizzy hair. An article on boston.com yesterday described a $24 product with the straightforward title No Frizz that uses a molecule called polyfluoroester to work its magic. Because 1) I’m a sucker, 2) it’s gonna rain all week, and 3) I believe in the power of nerds, I’ll probably be buying the product soon. I’ll let you know if I get sleeked.

graphic by Alli Arnold for Real Simple magazine

graphic by Alli Arnold for Real Simple magazine

Leave a Reply

