Apple crumble minus the apples

I came home the other day to the aroma of Thanksgiving in the kitchen. My roommate had made an apple crumble, its cinnamon permeating the house in a demanding way. I can take or leave baked apples, but the crumble topping, courtesy of Mark Bittman, was nutty and perfect. I decided to make my own crumble, sans apples, as a granola-like snack. Tossing the oats and chopped walnuts with cinnamon, butter, sugar, and flour, I threw in some sliced almonds and baked away. Result: a dry, floury mess marred by burnt almonds. More butter didn’t help; apparently, the apple part is crucial. Alas, it was edible, so I paired a warm scoop of the crunchy concoction with vanilla ice cream, because ice cream makes everything better. So, there’s your take away. I know you thought it was Don’t make apple crumble without the apples. But it’s actually, When in doubt, add ice cream.

 

This crumble looks way better than mine.

This crumble looks way better than mine.

Leave a Reply

