Phil, you’re a punk

I was just chatting with a student from Spain who had this to say about his first winter in Boston:

“It’s cold.”

“True,” I agreed. I hesitated and then broke the news that we’re in for six more weeks of hell, according to the soothsayer rodent Punxsutawney Phil. 

“Oh, yes,” the student said. “Happy Marmot Day!”

I stifled a laugh, but his funny take on the name did make me want to wring Phil’s furry neck a teensy bit less. I bet that fur ball has a boatload of life insurance.

One thought on “Phil, you’re a punk

  1. I don’t know if you’ve seen the movie Groundhog Day with Bill Murray, but if you did, you’d remember someone selling life insurance in that movie.

    Yeah, I just noticed that connection somehow.

Leave a Reply

