When recipes suck

Todd English, you disappoint me. I made your pasta with zucchini recipe this weekend from your Figs cookbook, and it bored me. I suppose I’m partly to blame though because I sensed, just from the recipe, that it would be blah. You just saute a boatload of olive oil, garlic, rosemary and thinly sliced zucchini. I’m easily seduced by thinly sliced vegetables. I swear they taste better, so I was hopeful. But after letting it simmer for 20 minutes, I threw in the pasta, added a little butter and basil and…yawn. 

You know a meal is bad when you start tossing in random ingredients scrounged from the kitchen: grape tomatoes, chili flakes, lemon, more butter, bananas…I don’t even want it for lunch. And seeing as the alternative is a cafeteria, well, I think that says it all.

One thought on “When recipes suck

Leave a Reply

