Good food roll

I’m on an unstoppable good food roll. You should be totally jealous. It started last Wednesday when my boss brought us to Sel de la Terre where four out of five of us ordered and enjoyed the salmon (such lemmings) that was served in a reduced carrot broth with perky Brussels sprouts. The point though, was dessert. Each of us was presented with a long white plate with three petite desserts: a warm chocolate morsel, a pumpkin cheesecake with a pumpkin seed brittle, and a fluffy homemade marshmallow. 

For dinner, a certain someone generously grilled up some lamb chops enhanced by hickory wood chips and served with grilled asparagus and roasted vegetables that made me want more. A peek in the fridge revealed creme brulees chilling (hello!) just waiting to be torched, which is, after all, the point of creme brulees.

Thursday was Thanksgiving, so yeah, we ate well and often.

Friday featured a surprise dinner at my favorite restaurant, which I wrote about yesterday but could continue glowing about all week. I’ll spare you—and me; I can’t afford another craving just yet.

Saturday, I enjoyed a hearty diner breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, and toast for lunch, because breakfast isn’t just for breakfast anymore. Dinner meant leftovers from said favorite restaurant, so wow.

Sunday, I made chili, complete with a layer of cheese, scallions, and a dollop of sour cream.

Monday: chicken quesadillas for lunch (at the cafeteria, no less) and more chili for dinner.

Today: the last of the chili. Sigh.

I’m already nervous about tomorrow. I’m thinking pizza; I can’t bear to see the end of this string of good meals and fear the moment I break down and settle for a grilled cheese because the fridge is bare. Though if the cheese is mozzarella with a little pesto…God, l’m like an addict seeking my next fix. If you see me on the corner looking desperate, just throw me a T-bone. Medium rare, please.

One thought on “Good food roll

Leave a Reply

