Pink rain

Walking through Cambridge is like touring an arboretum. Elaborate landscaping surrounds mammoth Colonials with gardens overflowing with petite flowering trees and flowers I can’t name. I feel a kinship to a tree or two—the lilacs I wrote about last week and this blossom-heavy tree that shivered pink petals in the slightest breeze, a few landing in my hair and on my shoulders. I’ve never been attacked so gently by such sweetness. This morning though, the flowers lay faded and crumpled, the tree clinging to a few blushing bunches, the wind now too strong a competitor. I captured it while it was still rosy:

One thought on “Pink rain

  1. Doesn’t it seem like spring lasts for about 10 minutes? Gotta stay alert!

    Enjoying your writing very much,

    Kim

Leave a Reply

