Milky chicken

I know, milky chicken doesn’t sound appealing, but this unique twist on roasted chicken is delicious. After discovering Jamie Oliver on the Food Network many years after everyone else did, I’ve begun devouring his cookbooks, and Chicken in Milk is the latest recipe I’ve made successfully (not hard, seeing as I consider success anything that doesn’t involve a kitchen fire). In brief, you roast the chicken in a mixture of milk, sage leaves, cinnamon, garlic, and lemon zest, and it bubbles up into a pleasant sauce.

The recipe is easy peasy as Oliver’s fond of saying, even if you’re afraid of roasting a whole chicken. Really, nothing could be more foolproof. You season it, stick it in the oven, and you’ve got meals for days. Yes, determining when it’s done is the trick, but get yourself a meat thermometer (chicken should reach 165 degrees) and you’re good to go.

3 thoughts on “Milky chicken

  1. That looks interesting. I’ve been thinking about pork braised in milk—an Italian dish, I think—but have not tried that yet. This might ease me into it: husband grew up Jewish so pork and milk is doubly non-Kosher, but chicken and milk, still not kosher might work.

  2. Oh, this looks totally yummy! I’m going to have to get this cookbook. BTW, I followed you here by your comment on my blog. Not sure what you expected to find there, but I’m thinking you may have followed the chicken tag. Isn’t it funny what you can run into this way?

  3. Tess, your recipe combines two of my favorite things: pork and milk; never would have thought to put them together though…

    WindyCityGal, so true! I thought it was funny that we were both writing about chickens–kind of the before and after…

Leave a Reply

