iPodless

I suspect I’m the only person around who doesn’t own an iPod. Does that make me weird? Thanks to the clever marketing, catchy Apple commercials, and their wee precious size, I do kind of want one, I do. However, I don’t need one. No one really needs one, of course, but I can see its appeal. Wanting and needing is an important distinction when it comes to pricey purchases, and while I think it would be great to be able to download tracks to play in obsessive rotation, the idea of researching the right model, the cost, the fact that I have a PC at home and am not technologically-savvy (I know, it’s supposed to be foolproof, but trust me), and the array of accessories I’d feel compelled to buy have so far discouraged me from joining the cool kids.

I love music, but really, am I going to be able to find obscure songs from my favorite local singer-songwriters? I’ve thought about when I’d use it too. I walk every morning, but I can’t give up my ritual of listening to Matty in the Morning on Kiss 108. I suppose I could use it on the subway, but I’m hesitant to participate in the private bubble culture that’s emerged in which we’ve all become so insular (though don’t get me wrong, I don’t really want to talk to you on the T). I can’t use it at work because it gets in the way of talking to students and co-workers, not to mention actual work. Driving, well, you’d just look silly, and I love listening to the radio in the car and at home. At the gym, I watch TV to distract me. It might come in handy while traveling, but I don’t travel enough to justify it. So, I’ve come to accept the fact that I’m not a gadget person, even if I think the Nano is quite possibly a tiny box of magic. I don’t know; even dogs are getting in on the trend. Maybe I should reconsider…

I love the Stray Cats...

2 thoughts on “iPodless

  1. You reminded me of my friend Chris’ theory that iPods represent the end of human civilization. (I forget his exact reasoning, though…I think he believes that listening to music is supposed to be a “communal experience,” not a private bubble thing like you mentioned.)

    Anyway, I would like to confess that I am also iPodless. But if I had one, hoo baby, I could store all thirty-something versions of the Doctor Who theme in one place. Hoowah!

Leave a Reply

