Eat your veg

I knew when I began actually enjoying vegetables that I’d become a disciple of Britain’s celeb chef Jamie Oliver. I wrote about my discovery of his new show “Jamie at Home,” here, which still has me waking up at 9:29 on Saturday mornings to watch the bloke cook things like slaw and squash muffins, which I didn’t think I’d like but that I must now try. He’s so relaxed and inventive that I watch segments while drooling that I’d normally turn off during other cooking shows. Oliver’s not big on measuring and he doesn’t care if you use chicory instead of turnip greens. He just wants you to have fun and make something good for you that you’ll enjoy eating. In fact, he was instrumental in bringing healthier choices to Britain’s school lunch program.

Miracle of all miracles, he’s gotten me to eat my veg by simply telling me how best to cook it. He tells this to everyone, I suppose, because it’s a TV show, but I like to think he’s speaking just to me. So, here’s what you do:

Buy some greens (spinach, kale, Swiss chard, bok choy, whatever) and add them to boiling water. Simmer them in for 2-3 minutes. Drain. In the same pan, drizzle some olive oil and cook a clove or two of garlic for a minute or so, then add the greens and cook for another 2 minutes. Remove from heat, squeeze some lemon on there, and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Eat your veg

  1. Now that my inspirational Saturday morning show Clean Sweep is gone, perhaps I’ll switch over to Jaime’s show. Those veggies look excellent.

Leave a Reply

