Random Oscar thoughts

I’m in a post-Oscar slump. The rush of anticipated releases is over, the awards have been handed out, and we’ve settle into a winter lull when there’s nothing worth seeing. Let’s discuss some random Oscar moments then, to ease the pain.

I loved that “Falling Slowly,” the song from “Once,” won and happier still when Marketa Irglova, who did not get a chance to speak after her singing partner Glen Hansard did, was invited back by John Stewart to give her thanks. A sweet gesture for a sweet person. OK, I don’t know for sure if she’s a sweet person, but her character was completely loveable.

Tilda Swinton was a surprise for Best Supporting Actress, and I felt it was well deserved. She talked in the Q & A backstage about playing this character, who feels inadequate in the male-dominated law firm, by wearing too-small clothing, one of those details that can really reveal character. Also, there was some serious sweating, which made me nervous for her character throughout.

Javier, I love you even more after your gracious speech thanking your mother, extended family, and Spain.

Daniel Day-Lewis should be knighted for real. I resisted “There Will Be Blood” because the premise sounded so unappealing: a nearly 3-hour movie about a crazy oil man in the 1920s based on the Upton Sinclair book, “Oil!” Even that exclamation point couldn’t convince me that oil was exciting. I should have known better. Daniel Day-Lewis transformed himself into the most compelling character I’ve seen in a long time. I was a little bit in love with his evil genius.

Finally, why was Nicole Kidman wearing a chandelier around her neck?

5 thoughts on “Random Oscar thoughts

  1. Yeah, she looked gross…so did Jessica Alba. Pregnancy enhances one’s bitchface, I suppose. And I totally agree, I thought There Will Be Blood was amazing, and that Daniel Day Lewis was, like, jesus-y in that role. Before the movie, though, my boyfriend wouldn’t tell me what the story was about — he’d knew I’d be like, oh. Um. Maybe we should just watch another four episodes of Law and Order: Special Victims Unit. Even now, when I find myself pitching the movie to a stranger or family member, I’m suddenly bored by my own description and usually end up mumbling a quick “trust me, just go see it.”

  2. Yeah except he’s too, like, beefy for me. I dunno what it is, I just don’t have a crush on him. Between him and Olivia Benson I’d take Benson every time. The one TV copper-guy I CAN get behind (so to speak) is the delightfully brooding and weirdo Detective Bobby Goren on Law and Order: Criminal Intent. Google him if you don’t already know who I mean, and prepare to die by hotness! He’s got everything — bigness, basset-hound eyes and a borderline personality disorder. Mmm mmm good!

  3. I love Det. Goren! I would like to admit that I’ve loved Vincent D’Onofrio since an incredibly bad movie that was incredibly bad to everyone but me: “Dying Young.” There, I said it. Campbell Scott was the main draw, but Vincent was a close second.

Leave a Reply

